Top 10 Football Teams Of All Time

There have been some truly outstanding teams to have graced the footballing world, but who exactly was the best team of all time?
Here at Gaming Supermarket, we throw our opinion into the oh-so-familiar debate with our top ten.

Betting Bonus Finder

Find the biggest bonus in seconds

Search Bonuses

Brazil, 1970
You would have to put up a strong argument to convince most football fans that the 1970 Brazil team was not the greatest to have ever graced a football pitch.

Boasting the likes of Carlos Alberto at the back, Tostao in the midfield, the great Jairzinho and of course, Pele, Brazil rampaged to the 1970 World Cup, their third title in total, with a 4-1 victory over Italy in the final.

It wasn’t just their winning mentality that has seen this side top almost every “greatest team” polls. The 1970 Brazil side became renowned as being the team that really did teach the world how football should be played. Having won the World Cups in 1958 and 1962, Brazil disappointed in 1966 – and they wanted to make amends.

The achievement of the Brazilian side was all the more impressive when you consider their route to the final. Having been drawn against defending champions England, Czechoslovakia and Romania, Brazil had no easy task, yet they topped the group with three wins from three, including a 4-1 romp against the Czechs.

Their relentless march to the final saw them outplay Peru in a 4-2 win and ease into the final with a 3-1 win over Uruguay, before demolishing Italy in the final.

Real Madrid, 1960
Winning one European Cup is an achievement. Winning two is special. Winning five in a row is simply outstanding.

Real Madrid’s 1960 team established the Spanish giant’s dominance of European football in emphatic style with a 7-3 hammering of German side Eintracht Frankfurt. The Madrid goals in that final came from just two men, Ferenc Puskás and Alfredo Di Stéfano, the two players who were the stand-out stars of the Real team at that time.

Before that night at Hampden Park, Stade Reims, Milan and Fiorentina had all tried, and failed, to stop Los Blancos.

Hungary, 1953
England faced a Hungarian side at Wembley in November 1953 and confidently expected to blow them away, as did the bookmakers. The hosts had not lost to a team from outside the British Isles at Wembley for a staggering 52 years and few were expecting the Hungarians to change that record.

However, England were blown away by the visitors, who ran out 6-3 winners in a game that made the world sit up and realise the strength of some of the lesser-known nations. Some pundits were even prompted to suggest that 25 November 1953 was the day that football emerged from the dark ages. To this day, this Hungarian side holds the longest consecutive run of matches - unbeaten in 33 games between May 1950 and July 1954.

Ajax, 1972
Ajax have long held a reputation as the home of “Total Football” and it was the 1972 European Cup final team that earned the Amsterdam side that reputation.

Led by the legendary Johan Cryuff, Ajax beat Inter Milan 2-0 with a spellbinding brand of football that had not been seen before and probably will never be seen again. The famed Ajax academy went on to produce other great teams, not least their Champions League winning side of 1995, but few teams have dominated Europe in the way that the Ajax class of ’72 did.

Bayern Munich, 1974
Forgetting the controversies of the 1975 final, Bayern Munich demonstrated their dominance as they won the first of three consecutive European Cups in 1974, beating Atletico Madrid 4-0 in a final replay.

Led by Franz Beckenbauer with the great Gerd Muller up front and Sepp Maier in goal, Bayern went on to record victories over Leeds United and Saint-Étienne, although their success against Leeds in Paris was later tainted amid accusations of match fixing levelled at French referee Michel Kitabdjian.

England, 1966
Certainly England’s greatest team, the 1966 World Cup winning side contained names that were firmly etched into the minds of all English football fans. Led by captain Bobby Moore and the Charlton brothers, tenacious Nobby Stiles and Alan Ball as well as hat-trick hero Geoff Hurst, England swept past Uruguay, Mexico, France, Argentina and Portugal before their 4-2 after extra time victory over West Germany in the final.

Liverpool, 1984
The 1984 Liverpool side became the first ever to win the European Cup by virtue of a penalty shoot-out, defeating Roma in Rome. The victory secured the treble for the Reds, who had already secured the League and the League Cup.

Coached by “boot room boy” Joe Fagan and featuring the likes of Daglish, Rush, Lawrenson and Souness, the 1984 final will long be remembered for Bruce Grobbelaar’s “wobbly legs” during the penalty shoot-out.

Manchester United, 1999
Liverpool claimed the treble in 1984 but Manchester United fans will argue that they were the team to claim the “true” treble, claiming the more prestigious FA Cup alongside the Premier League and Champions League trophies.

With the formidable partnership of Dwight Yorke and Andy Cole up front, complimented by the United academy graduates of David Beckham, Paul Scholes, Ryan Giggs and Gary Neville, the Reds were involved in one of the most memorable European Cup finals in history, claiming victory from the jaws of defeat against Bayern Munich with two injury time goals in a 2-1 victory.

France, 1984
Michel Platini was the lynchpin here in what was a formidable French side in 1984. Hosting the Euro ’84 tournament and heading in as favourites, Platini made sure that the French lived up to expectations as they went on to win the tournament, beating Spain in the final with a superb brand of football.

That year, the team went on to win gold at the Los Angeles Olympics.

Celtic, 1967
On Thursday May 25th 1967, eleven Scotsmen of Celtic Football Club became the first British and Northern European team to win the European Cup. Jock Stein’s Celtic ran out 2-1 winners over Internazionale in Lisbon, entering the Glasgow club’s name into the record books.

That year Celtic won every competition they entered, including the Scottish league title, the Scottish Cup, the Scottish League Cup, the European Cup and the Glasgow Cup.

Share This